The Melancholy of Suzumiya Haruhi, 03

April 19, 2006 at 3:54 am (Anime)

I don’t have a whole lot to say about this episode. It continues to have amazing animation. I laughed a few times, but didn’t get terribly excited. It almost felt like an addendum to episode two. Fortunately it looks like things will pick up again in the next episode.


Haruharu Haruhi. She just needs a guitar and a Vespa.

I really love how dynamic Haruhi’s motion is. She always moves with a twirl, or a jump, and the animation for her movements feels very full and vivid.

I like the reddening effect of the setting sun they use here. Especially when you compare it with…

These night-time shots. I got a very strong impression of night-time. Yuki’s barren apartment reminds me of, before I lived in the city in particular, sitting up in hotel rooms at night when I waas on trips, and staring out for a long time at the night sky and the city lights. If you look you can see radio towers blinking slowly on and off outside her window.

Well, except for these two shots, which inexplicably reminded me of the first Men In Black movie, in the scene where Will Smith enters the office building to interview for a job where he, umm, meets a bunch of aliens. Right.

