Kintama, 01-02

April 20, 2006 at 1:34 am (Anime)

Gintama appears to be Excel in the future with samurai, or something. I didn’t exactly follow all of what was happening (translation felt a little dodgey in places), but since this is more meta-humor and slapstick (i.e. Excel, FLCL) than situation comedy, I didn’t particularly care.

I didn’t really think it was that funny over-all, but there were some amusing bits. Breakdown of said bits follows.


+1 Points: Humorous Character introductions


+1 Points: Great OP. And is that largo’s cool thing she’s got?


+1 Points: Shinsengumi


+1 Points: Swooning Megane Nattou Ninja. I reallllly didn’t understand her.


+1 Points: Main character reads Shounen Jump (and -5 for continuing this joke for like five minutes)


+1 Points: Note from producers about how bad things might happen if you write “Kin” instead of “Gin” for the title.





+infinity Points: Nekketsu Sarariman!

3 Comments

  1. Ten said,

    There’s someting missing in the premiere ep of Gintama. To some degree it is amusing but it is not exactly funny. The vibe between the cast seems lacking in chemistry. It seems as if characters were randomly thrown in together.

    Strangely though, it is enough to make me watch the follow-up ep.

  2. Seth said,

    “amusing, but it is not exactly funny”

    Yeah, pretty much.

    It was a little bit too much meta-humor for me, mostly. Even the stuff I posted in this reaction didn’t really make me laugh so much as it did produce silent snickers of amusement. I think I’m gonna watch the next ep after all, but not until I’m bored. Maybe it will get better.

  3. Brent said,

    The whole samurai times mixing with alien spaceships is just very out of place. I have watched up to episode 3 and it’s really not that funny. It’s trying too hard to be funny and fails completely. They continued with the Shounen Jump joke in episode 4. It’s also sad to have the show either before or after Bleach which they appear before the start of Bleach.

Comments are closed.

