Zero no WTF?

July 15, 2006 at 8:52 am (Anime)

I watched the first two episodes of Zero no Tsukaima and while I’m probably not interested / bored enough to watch more of it, I would like to pause for a brief…wtf.

As far as I can tell, this show basically combines…


the sets and costumes from Harry Potter…


the plot (and the voice actors) from Shakugan no Shana…


the contrived master-slave relationship (I guess; I didn’t really watch FSN) from Fate/Stay Night…


RED STAR (ok planet)…



perhaps the most stereotypical harem I’ve seen in the past two years, complete with tsundere PHAG co-lead…


and a commoner main character who is enslaved by rich folk on his first day at their school, and taunted by a flamboyant blonde ladies man.

Sigh. I almost wish I were going to keep watching it. There is so much opportunity for “commoner wisdom” jokes.

11 Comments

  1. Crayotic Rockwell said,

    Can’t really disagree with that. For me the show, my first impression of it from the first episode is that it’s all colors of “mediocre”.. which is worse than crappy in some senses

    If the show survives on my roster I expect it’ll because I grow attached to one of the characters, or possibly the unwilling slave/master combo.. altho those need work too I’d say

  2. sethjohnson said,

    Oh, I forgot to mention how all the animals look like Pokemon also.

  3. jpmeyer said,

    Wait, you’re saying that like it’s a bad thing…

  4. lolikitsune said,

    jp, stop defending it. Open your eyes. There are no mechas.

    Seth- excellent use of the acronym PHAG. I approve. *high fives*

    Actually, never EVER use the acronym tag with that again. These sorts of things shouldn’t be explained.

  5. conrath said,

    omg… did i just manage to guess that acronym? “Pink haired angry girl?

  6. Seth said,

    @lolikit, Shouldn’t be explained? I see, so you’re one of the intellectual elitist nobles that want to keep the commoners down by suppressing knowledge!

    @conrath, “Pink Haired Anime Girl,” but close. Also, the little dotted underline on the word means it should pop-up a little tool-tip that has some explanatory text (in this case: what the acronym stands for), though it’s possibly your browser doesn’t support it

  7. William said,

    Zero no Tsukaima is quite an attractive story. I have been watching it every week and tomorrow will be the first ending of this first series. The story of this anime is actually from its novel which I have been told that is really reallly good. So maybe you should give this a good try.

  8. Shannon said,

    Awesome site! Design is great! Please visit my homepage too:

  9. Ralph said,

    Amazing artwork! This is spectacularly done! Visit my sites, please:

  10. Kathy said,

    Very well! Your site is neat! Visit my sites, please:

  11. ellaelax-pj said,

Comments are closed.

