I suck at history

October 3, 2006 at 8:37 am (Anime)

For all I’m interested in European history, my knowledge of it isn’t terribly extensive, so I totally missed the fact that Le Chevalier d’Eon was an actual historical figure, until I noticed that all the other actual people in the credits had life-death dates listed, and so did he. Charles-Geneviève-Louis-Auguste-André-Thimothée d’Eon de Beaumont, later made Chevalier d’Eon by promotion in the noble ranks.

(from here),

“Diplomat, writer, spy, and Freemason, a member of the elite Dragoons and one of the best swordsmen France, whose true gender was a source of speculation and provoked public bets in the late 18th century. Generally it was believed that d’Eon was born female, but he had started to dress as a man in his childhood, and changed back from “a bad boy into a good girl” when his secret was revealed decades later. After his death it turned out that he was a man who had dressed as a woman. D’Eon is often called the patron saint of transvestites.”

Sweet.

See also, the wikipedia page.

2 Comments

  1. Brian said,

    Don’t feel bad, I forgot who Chevalier was until I read in other blogs.

  2. Zoe said,

    Chevalier is starting to get freaky, and thats a good kind of freaky! This anime totally blows me away.

Comments are closed.

