There is no hope in this world, ONLY ZUUL

July 16, 2007 at 12:58 am (Anime)

Sayonara, Zetsubou Sensei is very very strange. It wins the biggest WTF prize of the year. Though I did not know what the crap was going on in at least half of the first episode, even with a nice a.f.k. translation, I still laughed like I meant it (hint: I did).

The director, Akiyuki Shinbo, has done a lot of really popular anime that didn’t do very much for me, like Pani Poni Dash and Negima!? (well, okay, I didn’t watch Negima!?, but I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t like it). This is another school gag anime replete with references scribbled on the chalk board, but the style is all funkified (GOOD!) and it’s much more dark and pretentious. It feels like he got high together with Shinichiro Watanabe and Edward Gorey, and they marathoned Haruhi and Eva and were like WE CAN DO THIS!! and wrote an anime script, and then went home and passed out, and then Shinbo found the script when cleaning out his desk a few years later and said “this is…BRILLIANT”.

I am glad there is a good subber on this show, because even Andrew Cunningham calls the source manga “possibly the least translatable manga ever done” (link stolen from wildarmsheero).


Hi, I’m Franz Kafka, and welcome to anime!

I will watch this show, if nothing else, because it will probably give me something to talk about. Also it seems to be a very solid production in general, is funny, and uses inventive direction. Even though the complicated Japanese writing system jokes make my head hurt (thankfully there were some explanatory frames from a.f.k. at the end).

4 Comments

  1. Craig Mcleod said,

    that director needs to get smacked upside the head. I meen jesus, it’s bad enough he’s a censorfag but he’s a censorfag who’s head is firmly up his own ass.

  2. sethjohnson said,

    @Craid Mcleod, you are mentally dysfunctional. His head is up highschool girls’ asses, as the anime PLAINLY DEPICTS.

  3. wildarmsheero said,

    Well. This is Japanese TV. Not like they have the balls to show asses and boobs anymore.

  4. Andrew Cunningham said,

    The a.f.k. sub was so astonishingly good (I downloaded only because I couldn’t fucking read the blurry kanji in the opening credits rant) that I ended up watching the whole thing, freeze framing through the chalkboard bits, and wondering why these people aren’t doing this for a living.
    Then I realized they probably have a real job doing boring translation stuff for actual money, and just do this for kicks.
    Of course, we’re still introducing the wacky cast, and haven’t quite made it to the real abuse of language sections that are what make the manga so damn hard to translate.

    Anyone hoping to translate the series definitely needs to check out: http://zetubou.hewl.info/wiki/ which is doing an impressive job of cataloging every joke in the manga.

Comments are closed.

