So I was like, I guess I’ll watch KimiKiss

October 24, 2007 at 11:04 pm (Anime)

but I dunno. Episode 2 was discouraging. It was full of the kind of dialogue that makes these renai adaptations stupid. Mao is like “HEY MR. STOIC LET’S MAKE A DEAL WHERE YOU TALK TO ME SO I CAN ADD YOU TO MY SHIPPING LIST.” Now, I may not have grown up in a Japanese high school, but I cannot imagine anyone actually having a conversation like that. Most of the time it doesn’t matter, but since this is supposed to be a drama that emotionally attaches you to the characters (I guess?) I’d tend to hope for something less…inane. But then I remember this isn’t a normal drama, it’s a renai adaptation, and it has its own genre conventions, which I am supposed to be chuckling at (OMG LOL BENTO) because that is how we roll around here.

Is it already out of style to make “TURN YOU INTO JUNK” jokes about any character voiced by Rie Tanaka? It’s great in renai anime, since then you can be like “Well, she’ll do something with his junk anyway.” Or alternatively you can get extra-nerdy and be like “by which I mean SEXUALLY OBJECTIFY YOU”

Oh, also, thanks to Shinichiro Watanabe, hearing saxaphone music in my anime made me expect rogue space samurai breakdancers to suddenly crash into the school and give chase to the main characters, which, all things said, probably would have been more entertaining.

1 Comment

  1. Michael said,

    LOL

Comments are closed.

